respiration philosophie vivante

# 2 Breathing, living philosophy

respiration philosophie vivante
Here the second of the Six Interviews of Itsuo Tsuda « Breathing living philosophy » by André Libioulle broadcast published on France Culture in the 1980s.

Broadcast # 2

Q: During the second week we will talk more in dept about the books published by Itsuo Tsuda. All these works published by the « Courrier du Livre » in Paris, are currently six: « The Non-Doing », « The Path of Less », « The Science of the Particular « , a book with the title « One », « The Dialogue of the Silence  » and recently « the Unstable Triangle ». They relate to breathing and the field of thought in relation to it. […]

The concepts of soul and body has always been separated into clear-cut by the west. They have often talked about the elevation of the individual’s soul as much as underestimating the body, considered as related to temptation. If for Plato, the soul is cramped in its carnal envelope, a prisoner of the body, for a man like Itsuo Tsuda  the body appears to be the captive of the soul. A soul who constantly manipulates abstractions and cuts the vital impulse.The man more and more lives in the brain. The hopes of the society is based on the intensive exploitation of intellectual capacity in which it is seen the privilege of the human being.

But this hypertrophicity of the brain creates a gap that is the source of the imbalance between the sensations, the body as life, as energy, as momentum, and the world built, conceptualized cerebrated. Breathing is unification, return to self, if you release the separation body and soul, if the soul ceases to be an abstraction, then it is everywhere, it is in the body as well as outside.

So… « ki », the concept of which we gave already a hint during the previous broadcasting, introduces us to the idea of unity. This is what we will try to understand now. So, Itsuo Tsuda, it seems that the first step,  towards the understanding of ki, it is whether we feel the sensation. That is to say not to abstract it, not to imagine about living a sensation but really and truly feeling it.

I.t.: There is a principle we recognize in Chinese medicine, it is: cold head and warm feet. Currently it is exactly the other way around: hot head and cold feet. We do not even feel our feet. And the head heats up more and more. There is quite a contributing factor to it: this is Westernization. But we can not turn back. This is a trend that has been going on since long time already. But we also have the obvious benefits that come from Westernization. But if that is only on a material level it does not helps us, it places us in a precarious state as individuals. Individuals become increasingly prisoners of well-planned structures, they can not feel alive themselves anymore.

Q: Europeans elsewhere, you write, need to understand before acting. They do not engage immediately in action.
I.t.: What I am doing here, it is not precisely the same as what we would do in Japan. Often in Japan we do not explain, we found ourselves immediately into the experience path, it’s up to everyone to learn the lesson, isn’t it. Well, in the West this does not work. We need to understand first. But understanding is not enough. I have explained those people who were listening the explanation about swimming, but this does not allow people to be able to dive into the water. If we have not felt the first touch of the water, one can fill his head with all sorts of explanations, but it is useless.

Q: But people will perhaps argue about this, « but why do I need to be able to feel? Why is that so important for me? « 

I.t.: Well, this is the concept of « Seitai » precisely that one that Noguchi created after the war. At the moment people think in a dualistic way: « here – that is good, that is bad. We must fight the evil. When we have fought the evil, we will have the good.  » But in fact, we do not search this: we nomalize the terrain. That’s what he called « Seitai »: a well harmonized body. In the West we keep on finding the cause, we try to exterminate the cause. But as soon as we finished with the cause, here there are other causes that arise. But that’s the method that complies with this mental structure. But Noguchi brought this view which is quite different, which transcends all. If your organism is normalized, the problem itself becomes less important. In the West we say: there is such a problem. That’s a way of defining it, it does not change volume, it’s still there. We must attack this way etc.

Q. So there is in fact for the West an anatomical way of understanding, discursive kind, in which we distinguish cause and effect and in order to be able to act on a particular item. The concept introduced by the Seitai is a different concept. It is the notion of sensation. But this is the notion, if I understand, in which knowledge is not excluded. But it is another type of knowledge, intuitive knowledge, qualitative I would say, in relation to the Western notion of measure or quantification.

I.t.: The same problem increases or decreases importance depending on sensation. A bottle is half empty or half full. But the quantity is exactly the same. But the sensation is different in both cases. So just a little nothing can change human behavior. If one says, « that’s it, I’m done, » from that moment on one can no longer move forward. While if I say « I have already made three steps forward, » then Iam ready to make a fourth step, isn’t it.

Q. Do you not think that there is a notion that is brought by the West, which is about the total or the global but understood as an assembly of parts? With the quality we are also in something global, but without this assembly idea.

I.t.: In Seitai, we do not look at a person as an assembly of various parts. That’s the basic idea. A person is an individual, total, isn’t it. But everyone is different, in its movement, in his breath, in his sensitivity. That’s what matters to us.

Q. You talked about Master Noguchi repeatedly. Could we try to understand what the whole is, the unit in an individual through some examples of the practice of Master Noguchi, Noguchi was a therapist, wasn’t he. He is the creator of the Seitai method. So how is his job? What enabled him to understand those concrete things, spontaneously?

I.t.: For example, each one has its own biological speed, which determines the behavior, actions, movements etc. It is viewed in a quite detached way, objective, as per minute etc., etc., but for Noguchi, well that’s something concrete. Everything comes from that biological speed that is inherent in the individual. Without this notion of speed he can do nothing. But this…

Q: … so there, the notion of speed has nothing to do with the notion of rapidity, for example …

I.t. … no, no …

Q: … as we know it, it’s something else …

I.t.: No. We need to create the contact with the biological speed of that particular person. No need to apply a general and objective speed. Well, for example, there is a kid who comes while crying, he is crying because he broke his arm. Parents say: « It is impossible to touch him, he keeps on crying and crying … ». But Noguchi has already touched him. « Ah, ah good then it is because he does not dare to cry in front of a master. » No it’s not that. He touched him at a , biological speed, the breathing speed of the child, which is peculiar to him. At that time, the kid does not feel the contact, it’s part of him, and that it’s so important.

[Read extracts from books Itsuo Tsuda]

Q. You wrote that Master Noguchi could identify the individual through observation and by touch, something like the notion of an unconscious movement.

I.t.: Yes, for him, all the movements are unconscious hundred percent. We believe precisely the opposite. We believe we are the masters of ourselves, but we can not do much, and we try to hold us, to behave in front of others, etc. And then one day the brake is released, and then we wonder where it comes from. For Noguchi everything is unconscious, we are not masters of ourselves.

Q. Did Mr. Noguchi made a distinction between the unconscious movement and posture …

I.t. … but the posture is the realization of the unconscious movement.

Q. So the posture, it is observable by everyone … from the outside, without preparation, while the unconscious movement itself, requires preparation.

I.t.: Posture, if you think about the military way, for example, « Attention! » etc., so everybody tries to do pretty much the same. But when one is at rest, everyone is different.

Q. What is the relationship there between breathing and unconscious movement?

I.t.: There are some people who are breathless, for example. So when this happen, respiration rises higher and higher. So, people breathe from the top of the lungs and then finally when their breath weakens it goes through the nose. What we do it is to go lower, right, so we can breathe with our belly, or, if one’s wants, with the feet. Without the practice it is quite difficult to explain that.

Q: The idea of ​​breathing is a concept much broader than a simple biochemical deal. Breathing is life, it is ki …, the « souffle » , the soul …

I.t.: yes …

respiration philosophie vivante

#2 La respiration, philosophie vivante

respiration philosophie vivanteRetrouvez ici le deuxième entretien des Six Interviews de Itsuo Tsuda « La respiration philosophie vivante » par André Libioulle diffusées sur France Culture dans les années 1980.

ÉMISSION N° 2

Q. : Au cours de cette seconde semaine, nous allons revenir plus en détail sur les ouvrages publiés par Itsuo Tsuda. Ces ouvrages tous édités au “Courrier du Livre” à Paris sont actuellement au nombre de six : “Le Non-Faire”, “La Voie du Dépouillement”, “La Science du Particulier”, un ouvrage qui porte le titre “Un”, “Le Dialogue du Silence” et récemment “Le Triangle Instable”. Ils ont trait à la respiration et aux domaines de pensée en rapport avec elle. […]

L’Occident a séparé en concepts bien tranchés l’âme et le corps. Il a souvent aspiré à l’élévation de l’âme et il a souvent sous-estimé le corps, considéré comme lieu de tentation. Si pour Platon, l’âme est à l’étroit dans son enveloppe charnelle, prisonnière du corps, pour un homme comme Itsuo Tsuda il apparaît que c’est le corps qui est prisonnier de l’âme. Une âme qui manipule sans arrêt les abstractions et se coupe de l’élan vital. De plus en plus l’homme vit au niveau cérébral. Les espoirs de la société reposent sur l’exploitation intensive des capacités intellectuelles dans lesquelles elle voit le privilège de l’être humain. Mais cette hypertrophie cérébrale suscite un écart qui est source de déséquilibre entre les sensations, le corps comme vie, comme énergie, comme élan, et le monde construit, conceptualisé, cérébralisé. La respiration est unification, retour à soi et, si on relâche la séparation corps et âme, si l’âme cesse d’être une abstraction, alors elle est partout, elle est dans le corps aussi bien qu’en dehors.
Eh bien le “ki”, cette notion qu’on a un peu approchée dans les émissions précédentes, nous introduit à une pensée qui est celle de l’unité. C’est ce que nous allons essayer de comprendre maintenant. Il semble donc que le premier pas, Itsuo Tsuda, vers la compréhension du ki, ce soit reconnaître en nous la sensation. C’est à dire ne pas abstraire, ne pas s’imaginer vivre une sensation mais vraiment être réellement la sensation.

I.T. : Il y a un principe, qu’on reconnaît dans la médecine chinoise, c’est : la tête froide et les pieds chauds. Actuellement justement, le sens est renversé : la tête chaude et les pieds froids. On ne sent même pas les pieds. Et puis la tête s’échauffe de plus en plus. Il y a tout un facteur qui contribue à faire ça : c’est l’occidentalisation. Mais on ne peut pas rebrousser chemin. C’est une tendance qui date de longtemps. Et puis il y a des avantages évidents qui proviennent de l’occidentalisation. Mais seulement, si sur le plan matériel ça nous aide, cela nous met dans un état assez précaire sur le plan individuel. Les individus deviennent de plus en plus prisonniers de structures bien planifiées, ils ne peuvent plus se sentir vivre, eux-mêmes.

Q. : Les Européens d’ailleurs, vous l’écrivez, ont besoin de comprendre avant d’agir. Ils ne se lancent pas d’emblée dans une action.

I.T. : Ce que je fais justement, ce n’est pas de la même manière que ce qu’on fait au Japon. Souvent au Japon on n’explique pas, on se précipite tout de suite dans l’expérience, c’est à chacun de tirer la leçon, n’est-ce-pas. Eh bien, en occident ça ne marche pas. On a besoin de comprendre d’abord. Mais la compréhension ne suffit pas. J’ai beau expliquer devant des gens qui écoutent les explications sur la natation, ça ne permet pas de se plonger dans l’eau. Tant qu’on n’a pas senti le contact de l’eau, on peut remplir la tête avec toutes sortes d’explications, ça ne sert à rien.

Q. : Mais les gens vont peut-être vous argumenter : « mais à quoi ça me sert-il d’être en présence de mes sensations ? Qu’est‑ce que ça m’apporte ? »

I.T. : Eh bien, c’est la notion de “Seitai”, justement, que Noguchi a créée après la guerre. Pour le moment les gens pensent d’une façon dualiste : « voilà – il y a le bien, il y a le mal. Le mal il faut le combattre. Quand on aura combattu le mal, il nous restera le bien ». Mais en fait, nous ne cherchons pas de cette manière : nous normalisons le terrain. Ça c’est ce qu’il a appelé “Seitai” : l’organisme bien harmonisé. En occident on s’acharne à trouver la cause, on essaie d’exterminer la cause. Mais sitôt qu’on a fini avec une cause, il y en a d’autres qui surgissent. Mais ça c’est la méthode qui est conforme à la structure mentale. Mais Noguchi a apporté cette vue qui est tout à fait différente, qui transcende tout. Si votre organisme est normalisé, le même problème diminue d’importance. En occident on dit : il y a tel problème. Ça c’est défini, ça ne change pas de volume, ça reste là. Il faut attaquer de telle manière etc.

Q. : Donc il y a en somme pour l’occident une connaissance de type anatomique, de type discursive, dans laquelle on distingue la cause et les effets et en vue d’agir sur tel ou tel élément. La notion introduite par le Seitai est une notion différente. C’est la notion de sensation. Mais c’est une notion, si j’ai bien compris, dans laquelle la connaissance n’est pas exclue. Mais c’est une connaissance d’un autre type, c’est une connaissance intuitive, qualitative disons, par rapport à la notion de mesure ou de quantification occidentale.

I.T. : Le même problème augmente ou diminue d’importance selon la sensation. Une bouteille est moitié vide ou moitié pleine. Mais quantitativement c’est exactement pareil. Mais la sensation diffère, dans les deux cas. Alors il suffit d’un petit rien qui change la chose dans le comportement de l’homme. Si on se dit : « ça y est, je suis foutu », à partir de ce moment-là on ne peut plus avancer. Tandis que : « j’ai déjà fait trois pas en avant », alors on est prêt à faire un quatrième pas, n’est-ce pas.

Q. : Est-ce que vous ne pensez pas qu’il y a une notion qui est apportée par l’Occident, et qui est celle de la totalité ou de la globalité mais comprise comme un assemblage de parties ? Avec la qualité nous sommes aussi dans quelque chose de global, mais sans cette idée d’assemblage.

I.T. : Dans le Seitai, on ne regarde pas un individu comme un assemblage de diverses parties. Ça c’est l’idée fondamentale. Un individu c’est un individu, total, n’est-ce pas. Mais, chacun diffère, dans son mouvement, dans sa respiration, dans sa sensibilité. Voilà ce qui nous importe.

Q. : Vous avez parlé de Maître Noguchi à plusieurs reprises. Est-ce qu’on ne pourrait pas essayer de comprendre ce que c’est que la globalité, l’unité chez un individu à travers quelques exemples de la pratique de Maître Noguchi puisque Maître Noguchi était thérapeute. C’est lui qui est le créateur de cette méthode seitai. Alors, comment se présentait son travail ? Qu’est‑ce qui lui permettait d’appréhender des choses concrètes, spontanées ?

I.T. : Par exemple, chacun a sa vitesse biologique, qui détermine le comportement, les démarches, les mouvements etc. On l’envisage sous une forme tout à fait détachée, objective, tant par minute etc., etc., mais pour Noguchi, eh bien c’est une chose concrète. Tout provient de cette vitesse biologique qui est inhérente à l’individu. Sans cette notion de vitesse il ne peut rien faire. Mais cette…

Q. : … donc là, la notion de vitesse n’a rien à voir avec la notion de rapidité par exemple…

I.T. : … non, non…

Q. : … telle que nous la connaissons nous, c’est autre chose…

I.T. : Non. Il faut que le contact soit établi, avec la vitesse biologique de cette personne en particulier. Non pas appliquer une vitesse générale et objective. Eh bien par exemple, il y a un gosse qui arrive en criant, en pleurant parce qu’il s’est cassé un bras. Les parents disent : « C’est impossible de toucher, il pleure, il pleure… ». Mais Noguchi l’a déjà touché. « Ah, ah bon alors c’est parce qu’il n’ose pas crier devant le maître ». Non c’est pas ça. Il a touché, à la vitesse biologique, la vitesse de la respiration de l’enfant, qui lui est particulière. À ce moment-là, le gosse ne sent pas le contact, ça fait partie de lui, et c’est tellement important.

[lecture d’extraits des livres d’Itsuo Tsuda]

Q. : Vous avez écrit que Maître Noguchi pouvait dégager de l’individu par l’observation et par le toucher, quelque chose comme la notion d’un mouvement inconscient.

I.T. : Mais oui, pour lui, tous les mouvements sont cent pour cent inconscients. Nous croyons justement le contraire. Nous croyons être maîtres de nous-mêmes, alors que nous ne pouvons pas faire grand chose, et nous essayons de nous retenir, de composer devant les autres, etc. Et puis, un jour le frein lâche, et puis on se demande d’où ça vient. Pour Noguchi tout est inconscient, nous ne sommes pas maîtres de nous-mêmes.

Q. : Est-ce que Maître Noguchi faisait une distinction entre le mouvement inconscient et la posture…

I.T. : … mais la posture est la concrétisation du mouvement inconscient.

Q. : Donc la posture, elle est observable par tout un chacun… de l’extérieur, sans  préparation, alors que le mouvement inconscient lui, demande une préparation.

I.T. : La posture, si on l’imagine sous une forme militaire par exemple, “garde-à-vous” etc., alors tout le monde essaie de faire à peu près la même chose. Mais, lorsqu’on est au repos, chacun est différent.

Q. : Quelle relation y-a-t-il entre la respiration et le mouvement inconscient ?

I.T. : Il y en a qui ont la respiration coupée, par exemple. Alors à ce moment-là, la respiration monte de plus en plus haut. Maintenant, les gens respirent du haut des poumons et puis finalement quand on s’affaiblit on respire par le nez. Ce que nous faisons, c’est de faire descendre plus bas, hein, pour que nous puissions respirer du ventre, ou, si on veut, des pieds. Alors sans la pratique c’est difficile à expliquer.

Q. : La notion de respiration est une notion beaucoup plus vaste que celle de simple opération biochimique. La respiration c’est la vie, c’est le ki…, c’est le souffle, c’est l’âme…

I.T. : oui…

[Suite dans l’entretien 3]