Relaxation

By Régis Soavi

For most Westerners, practising Aikido on their knees rather than standing seems to be at first sight very difficult. Although in our everyday life, we are very rarely in this position, it has been since immemorial times a relaxing posture, still allowing to stay vigilant.

Relaxing

To sit in Seiza (in Japanese « the proper way to sit ») allows the spine to be aligned and helps abdominal breathing, and so allows to put power in the Hara. Moreover, if the position, the posture, is well in line, while relaxed, it’s an extraordinary opportunity to relax the whole body.

To rest, to relax without having to lie down has always been what people working outside and therefore at the mercy of enemies, predators or even just because of bad weather conditions, have been looking for. The squatting position, still used in most countries of the African continent, in South America, Australia and many other countries, has the same function. On this matter, Tsuda Itsuo Senseï recalls an anecdote in his book The Path of Less:
« In an article probably conceived before 1934, Marcel Mauss describes this under the heading  »Techniques of the body » (1)
Children squat normally. We no longer know how to squat. I believe that this is an absurdity and an inferiority of our races, civilisations, societies. And he quotes an experience he had at the Front during the First World War. The (white) Australians he was with could rest on their heels during stops, while he was forced to stand.
The squatting position, in my opinion, is an interesting position that we can help children preserve. The biggest mistake is to take it away from them. All of mankind, except our societies, has retained it.
The squatting position presupposes flexibility of the hips. In doing Aikido, I see the huge difference between the Japanese and the Europeans. The Japanese, less structured intellectually and verbally, simply imitate what they are shown. Europeans observe, take note, make a file and paste a label on it. But when they begin to execute a movement, they sometimes find it difficult to coordinate everything. If they pay attention to the right hand, they forget the left. As for the feet, they don’t know where they are. This kind of mental habit does not make practice easy. Instead of having two components, A and B, B simply imitating A, they involve a third element, C, called intellect, file, or structure, thus forming a deflected circuit that complicates the situation. »

Childhood, adolescence

Before walking upright, we crawled, then, seeing and imitating other older children or adults around, we stood on our two legs. The vertical position released our hands and little by little we moved quicker and quicker even with our arms full of toys. During this period of our life, our usual playground, the one we feel comfortable to play in, where we can be independent of adults is the ground. And this whatever the area of the planet we live in. Then, we encounter great changes, our bodies spread out, we leave the ground for something more aerial, more mental too because our brain is better irrigated in a vertical position, so the more we grow up the more we get far from it. The society we live in provides us with high chairs, sofas, and other settees on which we can sit conveniently to enjoy ourselves or work, to relax or concentrate. From then, we live far from the ground, we won’t be back on the ground again except in very few moments when we play with a child or when we are on the beach or on the lawn.

Tatamis

When people discover the dojo and that huge surface at their disposal, they feel some sort of a childlike joy that threatens them and at the same time attracts them. Some of them are aware of it, others are just impressed. While children immediately start running and rolling on the floor, grown-ups remain reserved, already conscious perhaps of the process to be followed.

The first steps, as to say, on the Tatami mats, start in a sitting position. Frequently beginners cross their legs, but even if they succeed in sitting in the Seiza position, which is extremely unusual, they will almost never be told to keep the position during the practice. After a few seconds or few minutes of meditation, often the whole session will carry on standing. Indeed we are not in Japan, and many people aren’t used any more to sit that way, but instead of considering it as a challenge, a goal to be achieved, it seems to me interesting to consider it as a game. A game that requires physical and mental implication, but still a game, so a pleasure. And even if there are constraints, they are fully part of the game we have just started.

Getting recentered

Practising on our knees allows to get recentered while remaining relaxed. I always have my students practise slowly, specially beginners, but it is very good for advanced students too since a workout performed slowly and smoothly (I often use the Italian word legato, used in music) allows the whole body to recenter. If, as we got used to it, we don’t work using the muscle strength in our arms, but if we project our energy from our center, our Hara and have it run along our limbs, we can feel vividly the flow of Ki and see the effects. Arms must be neither flabby nor rigid, but supple and active, powerful, with this power they have when they are full of Ki. Working slowly in the kneeling position, for example in the basic forms that are Ikkyo or Yonkyo, allows, if one pays attention to this direction, to discover how Yin and Yang act, if we can say, spread out, interpenetrate. We then get recentered automatically because we need to recover our balance, the support on the knees become lighter because the body distributes the weight better, the hips themselves regain the flexibility they had lost by moving only from the standing position.

Two moments seem to me the right time to practise on the knees. The beginning of the session, since, as a slow work, it is a bit like a fitness. And the end of the session, the moment we do Kokyu-Ho which, in addition of being done on the knees, concentrates in a few minutes many physical and mental difficulties. It is, again, an opportunity to work on how to get recentered while one can check the state of the Koshi, its suppleness and so the whole posture.

A preparation?

Getting prepared with practising kneeling techniques, allows you to be ready when you face the opportunity of a Shiho-nage with a partner much smaller than you. The fact that you can turn while kneeling without any difficulty or loss of balance, to pass under his arm is an undeniable advantage.
But the range of advantages to practise in suwari waza (kneeling techniques) does not end there.
If I take as an example Irimi Nage in Hanmi Handachi Waza (techniques achieved with one partner on his knees and the other standing) one can feel more precisely the breath of aspiration down, and you can immediately feel if you are centered or not, if you have succeeded in creating a sufficient void in which the partner has plunged, where he has lost his balance while you stay stable. This is, still in Hanmi Handachi Waza, even more visible and concrete with two partners: the grab Katate Ryote Dori (seizure with both hands of a wrist) begins with a strike that turns into a seizure — and this is the crucial moment for a kokyu nage. The projection can only be done if one has enough practice of kneeling techniques, if one is able to become very heavy by concentrating the Ki in the lower abdomen, and to pass it beyond the fingertips.

Of course all techniques can be done from this posture with sometimes some variations but what seems important to me is that after having practised on your knees, practicing in Tachi Waza (standing practice) becomes much easier. This kind of work can have various consequences, if it is done forcefully, with the desire to win at all costs, or to stand a reputation, a role. Without having found the lines that allow the projection in flexibility, nor a deep and quiet breathing, there is a great risk of damage to the body, of having after a while serious problems with the knees or hips and a real handicap in everyday life.

Walking

Walking, moving on your knees, can be a good exercise, and for that there is Shikko. Here again it is important not to overdo it, not to show it as a competition, a « tour de force » that some will succeed more or less happily. Shikko is an excellent exercise but to use in moderation, especially at the beginning. After a few years of practice, if we have not forced, then it will have become a real pleasure. You can even do this training with a Bokken and by striking straight, this way of doing it makes it possible to check if it is the hips that move and if the rotation is done well at the lower level of the body and not from the chest. The shoulders must not move at all, but must remain exactly in the direction of the movement. When you start to feel comfortable you can start to make slow strikes with the Bokken while moving. All these exercises help to regain mobility in the hips. In my opinion, they have no immediate martial value, at first glance, simply because they are executed on Tatamis, which is normal, because who would like to train on gravel, for example, without protection on their knees?

Miracles?

Changes, that seem miracles to whom they happen, are possible. Years ago a woman came with crutches, she had been moving with enormous difficulties for several years. Very determined she came to practice every morning at the dojo. At the beginning there was no way for her to sit other than with her legs stretched in front of her, little by little however, after a few weeks her condition had improved. After a month she managed to get on her knees, but of course, straight and stiff as a board. From then, she began to get down, centimeter by centimeter, to end up, after several months, sitting on her heels without pain and, even later yet, enjoying it. This is not a unique case, right now at Tenshin Dojo, in Paris, a retired gentleman who came in with serious problems with his knees and ankles as a result of various surgeries he had had several years before. In less than a year of very regular practice (he comes every day) he has regained a mobility he no longer expected and now can sit on his heels. No force, taking time, having continuity, if something is possible it is done naturally. To be quite honest, I must say that in both cases the people concerned also started to practice katsugen undo (the regenerative movement) which facilitated the work of their bodies and their re-ordering.

Is groundwork essential?

Nothing, ever, is essential, but is it necessary? It is certain that we can do without it, there are even many good or bad reasons to avoid it, we can argue in these terms: it hurts the knees, it is dangerous for the joints, there’s no point in that, because nobody moves that way anymore, etc. If we can’t make out the reason of it, why should we strain ourselves? There are so many rituals, exercises that have become incomprehensible in our modern society, that even the simple act of saluting by bowing may seem obsolete, even ridiculous for many Westerners who would be perfectly willing to swap it for the “Shake-Hands”. By adapting to modernity, are we not in danger of missing the essential, of losing the spirit that leads us in Aikido, would I dare say its soul?

Want to receive future articles? Subscribe to the newsletter :

(1) Itsuo Tsuda, The Path of Less, p. 175, Yume Editions, Paris, 2015 (trans. from La Voie du dépouillement, Le Courrier du Livre, 1975)

Article by Régis Soavi published in Dragon Magazine (speciale Aikido n° 25) july 2019.

La détente

par Régis Soavi.

Pour la plupart des Occidentaux, pratiquer l’Aïkido tout en étant à genoux plutôt que debout, semble, à priori, une très grande difficulté. Bien que dans la vie quotidienne on soit très rarement dans cette position elle est utilisée depuis l’origine des temps comme une position de relaxation qui permet, malgré tout, la vigilance.

Se détendre

Se mettre dans la position Seiza (en japonais « position correcte pour s’asseoir ») permet un alignement de la colonne vertébrale, favorise la respiration ventrale et donc permet de mettre la force dans le Hara. Qui plus est, si la position, la posture est bien dans son axe tout en étant relaxée, c’est une chance extraordinaire pour détendre tout le corps.
Se reposer, se détendre sans avoir besoin de s’allonger a toujours été une recherche pour les personnes travaillant à l’extérieur qui sont à la merci d’ennemis, de prédateurs, voire très simplement soumises à des conditions climatiques défavorables. La position accroupie, encore utilisée dans la plupart des pays du continent africain, en Amérique du Sud, en Australie, et dans de nombreux autres pays, possède la même fonction. À ce sujet Tsuda Itsuo Senseï nous relate une anecdote dans son livre La Voie du dépouillement : « Dans un article probablement conçu avant 1934, Marcel Mauss relate ce fait sous le titre « Des techniques du corps »*
L’enfant s’accroupit normalement. Nous ne savons plus nous accroupir. Je considère que c’est une absurdité et une infériorité de nos races, civilisations, sociétés.
Et il cite une expérience vécue au front pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Les Australiens (Blancs) avec qui il était, pouvaient se reposer sur leurs talons pendant les haltes, tandis que lui était obligé de rester debout.
La position accroupie est, à mon avis, une position intéressante que l’on peut conserver à un enfant. La plus grosse erreur est de la lui enlever. Toute l’humanité, excepté nos sociétés, l’a conservée.
La position accroupie présuppose la souplesse des hanches. C’est en faisant l’Aïkido que je constate l’énorme différence entre le Japonais et l’Européen. Le Japonais intellectuellement et verbalement moins structuré, imite simplement ce qu’on lui montre. L’Européen observe, note, constitue un dossier et y colle une étiquette. Mais lorsqu’il se met à exécuter un mouvement, il arrive difficilement à coordonner le tout. S’il fait attention
à la main droite, il oublie la main gauche. Quant aux pieds, il ne sait pas où ils sont. Une telle habitude mentale ne facilite pas la pratique. Au lieu d’avoir deux éléments, A et B, B imitant tout simplement A, il fait intervenir un troisième élément, C, qu’il soit appelé intellect, dossier, ou structure, formant ainsi un circuit dévié qui complique la situation. »**sumariwaza

L’enfance, l’adolescence

Avant de marcher debout, nous nous sommes déplacés à quatre pattes, puis en voyant d’autres enfants plus grands ou des adultes autour de nous, par imitation, nous nous sommes dressés sur nos deux jambes. La position verticale a libéré les mains et les déplacements ont été au fur et à mesure plus rapides même avec les bras chargés de jouets. Pendant cette période de l’existence, notre terrain de jeu le plus coutumier, celui où nous sommes à l’aise, où nous pouvons être indépendant des adultes, est le sol. Et cela quelle que soit la région du globe où nous habitons. Puis viennent les grandes mutations, petit à petit, les corps se déploient, on abandonne le sol au profit de quelque chose de plus aérien, de plus mental aussi, car le cerveau est mieux irrigué par la position verticale, et donc plus on grandit plus on s’en éloigne. La société qui nous entoure met à notre disposition chaises hautes, divans, et autres canapés, sur lesquels on peut commodément s’asseoir pour se divertir ou travailler, se relaxer ou se concentrer. Cet éloignement du sol est quasiment définitif, on ne le retrouvera plus, si ce n’est à de rares moments de jeu avec un enfant ou à l’occasion d’un passage sur une plage ou sur du gazon.

Les Tatamis

Quand elles découvrent le dojo et cette immense surface mise à leur disposition, les personnes ressentent comme une sorte de joie enfantine qui les effraie, et en même temps les attire. Certains en ont conscience, d’autres sont simplement impressionnés. Alors que les enfants se mettent immédiatement à courir et se rouler par terre, les adultes restent réservés, conscients déjà peut-être, de la démarche qu’il faudra suivre.
Les premiers pas (si l’on peut dire) sur les Tatamis, commencent par la position assise. Bien souvent les débutants croisent les jambes, mais même s’ils arrivent à être dans la position Seiza dès le début, ce qui est extrêmement rare, il ne leur sera presque jamais proposé de tenir cette posture pour pratiquer. Après quelques secondes voire quelques minutes de méditation, souvent toute la séance se fera debout. Certes nous ne sommes pas au Japon, et un grand nombre de personnes ont perdu l’habitude de s’asseoir de cette manière, mais au lieu de voir cela comme une difficulté à surmonter, un but à atteindre, il me semble intéressant de le considérer comme un jeu. Un jeu qui demande que l’on s’y implique physiquement et mentalement, mais un jeu, donc un plaisir. Et même s’il y a des contraintes, elles sont une partie intégrante du jeu que l’on vient de commencer.

Se recentrer

La pratique à genoux est l’occasion de se recentrer tout en restant détendu. Je la fais toujours travailler lentement, surtout avec les débutants, mais c’est excellent même pour les anciens, car un travail lent effectué de manière très liée (j’utilise souvent le terme musical italien legato) permet un recentrage de tout le corps. Si on ne travaille pas avec la force musculaire dans les bras, comme on en a pris l’habitude, mais que l’on projette son énergie à partir du centre, du Hara, qu’on la fait couler le long des membres, on peut sentir de façon saisissante la circulation du Ki et en constater les effets. Les bras ne doivent être ni mous ni rigides mais souples et actifs, puissants, de cette puissance qu’ils ont lorsqu’ils sont pleins de Ki. Le travail lent dans la position à genoux, par exemple dans les formes de base que sont Ikkyo ou Yonkyo, permet, si on porte son attention dans cette direction, de découvrir comment le Yin et le Yang agissent, si l’on peut dire, se déploient, s’interpénètrent. Le recentrage se fait alors automatiquement par le simple besoin de rééquilibrage, les appuis sur les genoux deviennent plus légers car le corps répartit mieux le poids, les hanches à leur tour retrouvent la souplesse qu’elles avaient perdue en ne bougeant plus qu’en position debout.
Il y a deux moments qui me paraissent favorables à la pratique à genoux, le début de la séance, car comme c’est un travail lent c’est un peu comme une remise en forme, et la fin de la séance, le moment du Kokyu-ho qui se pratique à genoux et concentre de plus en quelques minutes un grand nombre de difficultés d’ordre physique et mental. C’est là aussi un travail de recentrage où on peut vérifier l’état du Koshi, sa souplesse, et donc la posture en général.sumariwaza stage été aikido

Une préparation ?

Se préparer avec le travail à genoux, permet aussi de ne pas être surpris lorsque se présente l’occasion d’un Shiho-nage avec un partenaire nettement plus petit que soi : le fait de pouvoir tourner tout en se mettant à genoux sans aucune difficulté et sans perte d’équilibre pour passer sous son bras, est un avantage indéniable.
Mais la palette des avantages à la pratique en Suwari waza (techniques à genoux) ne s’arrête pas là.
Si je prends comme exemple Irimi Nage en Hanmi Handachi Waza (technique réalisée avec un partenaire à genoux et l’autre debout), on peut sentir avec plus de précision le souffle de l’aspiration vers le bas, et on sent tout de suite si on est centré ou non, si on a réussi à créer un vide suffisant dans lequel s’est engouffré le partenaire, où il s’est déséquilibré alors que soi-même on est stable. Toujours en Hanmi Handachi Waza, cela est encore plus visible et concret avec deux partenaires : la saisie en Ryote Dori (saisie à deux mains d’un poignet) commence par une frappe qui se transforme en saisie, et c’est l’instant crucial pour un Kokyu nage. La projection ne peut se faire que si on a suffisamment travaillé au sol, si on est capable de devenir très lourd en concentrant le Ki dans le bas ventre, et de le faire passer au-delà de l’extrémité des doigts.
Bien sûr toutes les techniques peuvent se faire à partir de cette posture avec parfois quelques variantes, mais ce qui me paraît important c’est qu’après avoir travaillé à genoux, la pratique en Tachi Waza (pratique debout) devient beaucoup plus facile. Ce genre de travail peut avoir diverses conséquences, si on le fait en force, avec le désir de vaincre coûte que coûte, ou pour soutenir une réputation, un rôle. Sans avoir trouvé les lignes qui permettent la projection en souplesse, ni la respiration profonde et tranquille, on risque fort d’abîmer le corps, et au bout d’un certain temps d’avoir de gros problèmes aux genoux ou aux hanches et un réel handicap dans la vie quotidienne.

Marcher

Marcher, se déplacer à genoux, peut être un bon exercice, et pour cela il y a Shikko. Là encore il est important de ne pas forcer, de ne pas le montrer comme une compétition, un tour de force que certains réussiront avec plus ou moins de bonheur. Shikko est un excellent exercice mais à utiliser avec modération, au début surtout. Après quelques années de pratique, si on n’a pas forcé, alors c’est devenu un plaisir. On peut même faire cet entraînement avec un Bokken et en frappant bien droit, cette manière de faire permet de vérifier si ce sont bien les hanches qui bougent et si la rotation se fait bien au niveau du bas du corps et non du buste. Les épaules ne doivent absolument pas bouger mais par contre elles doivent rester exactement dans l’axe du déplacement. Lorsqu’on arrive à être à l’aise on peut commencer à faire des frappes lentes avec le Bokken tout en se déplaçant. Tous ces exercices permettent de retrouver de la mobilité au niveau des hanches. À mon avis ils n’ont pas de valeur martiale immédiate, simplement parce qu’ils sont exécutés sur des Tatamis, ce qui est normal, car qui voudrait s’entraîner sur du gravier par exemple, sans protection aux genoux ?

Des miracles ?

Des changements, qui pour la personne à qui cela arrive semblent s’apparenter à des miracles, sont possibles. Il y a quelques années une femme est arrivée avec des béquilles, elle se déplaçait avec d’énormes difficultés depuis plusieurs années. Très décidée elle est venue pratiquer tous les matins au dojo. Au début il n’était pas question pour elle de s’asseoir autrement qu’avec les deux jambes étendues, petit à petit pourtant, au bout de quelques semaines son état s’était amélioré. Après un mois elle réussit à se mettre sur les genoux, mais bien sûr, toute droite et raide comme un piquet. À partir de ce moment elle commença à descendre, centimètre par centimètre, pour finir après plusieurs mois par s’asseoir sur ses talons sans douleur et quelque temps après encore par y avoir du plaisir. Ce n’est pas un cas unique, il y a en ce moment au dojo Tenshin, à Paris, un monsieur à la retraite qui est arrivé avec de gros problèmes aux genoux et aux chevilles suite à diverses opérations chirurgicales datant de plusieurs années. En moins d’un an de pratique très régulière (il vient tous les jours) il a retrouvé une mobilité qu’il n’espérait plus, et il s’assoit maintenant sur ses talons. Ne pas forcer, prendre le temps, avoir de la continuité, si quelque chose est possible cela se fait naturellement. Pour être tout à fait honnête, je dois dire que dans ces deux cas les personnes concernées se sont mises aussi à pratiquer le Katsugen Undo (Mouvement Régénérateur) ce qui a facilité le travail de leur corps et sa remise en ordre.suwariwaza la detente

Indispensable, le travail au sol ?

Rien n’est jamais indispensable, mais est-ce nécessaire ? Il est certain que l’on peut s’en passer, il existe même quantité de bonnes ou de mauvaises raisons pour l’éviter, on peut argumenter dans ces termes : cela fait mal aux genoux, c’est dangereux pour les articulations, cela ne sert à rien puisque plus personne ne se déplace de cette manière, etc. Si on ne comprend pas son utilité, pourquoi se forcer ? Il y a tellement de rituels, d’exercices qui sont devenus incompréhensibles dans notre société moderne, que même le simple fait de se saluer en s’inclinant peut paraître désuet, voire ridicule pour nombre d’Occidentaux qui seraient tout prêts à le remplacer par le Shake-Hands. À force de s’adapter à la modernité ne risque-t-on pas de passer à côté de l’essentiel, de perdre l’esprit qui nous conduit en Aïkido, oserai-je dire son âme ?

Vous souhaitez recevoir les prochains articles ? Abonnez vous à la newsletter :

« La détente » un article de Régis Soavi publié dans Dragon Magazine (Spécial Aïkido n°25) en juillet 2019

Notes

* Mauss Marcel, Sociologie et Anthropologie, Presses Universitaires de France. 1950 p. 374.
** Tsuda Itsuo, La Voie du dépouillement, Ed. Le Courrier du Livre, 1975, p. 151-152.